

## SENT VIA EMAIL

March 25, 2021

The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, MP Prime Minister of Canada Langevin Block Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A2

Prime Minister:

## RE: Bill C-21, An Act to amend certain Acts and to make certain consequential amendments (firearms)

At its Regular Meeting held on March 8, 2021 Council of the Town of Kingsville passed the following Resolution:

## "205-2021

Moved By Councillor Thomas Neufeld, Seconded By Councillor Larry Patterson

A Resolution concerning Bill C-21, An Act to amend certain Acts and to make certain consequential amendments (firearms), specifically Amendment 26, Section (58.01 (1-8), Conditions-bylaw.

WHEREAS municipalities have never been responsible for gun control laws in Canada;

AND WHEREAS law abiding Kingsville residents who own legal handguns have already been thoroughly vetted through the CFSC, PAL and ATT applications;

AND WHEREAS illegal gun owners and smugglers do not respect postal codes;

AND WHEREAS if one municipality enacts a ban and not a neighbouring municipality, this will create a patchwork of by-laws;

AND WHEREAS a municipal ban would be difficult to enforce and easy to get around.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that The Corporation of the Town of Kingsville is OPPOSED to the adoption of any by-laws restricting the possession, storage and transportation of legally obtained handguns;

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this resolution be forwarded to the following public officials: MP Chris Lewis-Essex, MPP Taras Natyshak-Essex, Premier of Ontario The Honourable Doug Ford, Leader of the Official Opposition Andrea Horwath, Prime Minister of Canada The Honourable Justin Trudeau, and Leader of Official Opposition The Honourable Erin O'Toole."

If you require any further information, please contact the undersigned.

Yours very truly,

Sandra Litchen

Sandra Kitchen Deputy Clerk-Council Services Legislative Services Department skitchen@kingsville.ca

- cc: Hon. Doug Ford, Premier
- cc: Hon. Andrea Horwath, Official Leader of the Opposition
- cc: Hon. Erin O'Toole, Official Leader of the Opposition
- cc: MP Chris Lewis- Essex
- cc: MPP Taras Natyshak-Essex
- cc: Hon. Bill Blair, Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
- cc: MP Shannon Stubbs
- cc: Mayor Aldo DiCarlo, Town of Amherstburg cc: Mayor Larry Snively, Town of Essex
- cc: Mayor Tom Bain, Town of Lakeshore
- cc: Mayor Marc Bondy, Town of LaSalle cc: Mayor Hilda MacDonald, Municipality of Leamington
- cc: Mayor Gary McNamara, Town of Tecumseh
- cc: all Municipalities in Ontario

premier@ontario.ca horwatha-qp@ndp.on.ca erin.otoole@parl.gc.ca