## Bruce Area Solid Waste Recycling

Board of Management, Regular

January 21, 2021

#1-2021

Present: Ryan Nickason, Chris Peabody, Mark Ireland, Lillian Abbott, Dave Cuyler, Vince Cascone, Karrie Drury.

Absent: John Rich, Jay Kirkland.

Item 1: No pecuniary interests were declared.

Item 2: Monthly Reports

Moved by Ryan Nickason

Seconded by Dave Cuyler

That we accept the minutes of the regluar meetings held December 17, 2020 as distributed

Carried.

Moved by Ryan Nickason

Seconded by Lillian Abbott

That we have reviewed cheque numbers 16452 to 16528 inclusive total \$149,210.17.

Carried.

Financial Statements - December 2020

- -tonnage diverted from landfills for December 2020 totalled 508.72 T
- -year to date tonnage divered from landfills totalled 5,561.19 T
- -net income for December 2020 totaled \$98,411.99
- -year to date net loss totalled \$57,324.63, comparing to the net loss in 2019 totalling \$213,293.

Lillian Abbott inquired about the continued cost of shipping comingled recycling to Waste Management. Vince reported that due to safety measures in place due to the pandemic, there can only be 3 people on the sort line instead of the usual 4, this is causing the plant staff to fall behind.

An inqury was made about the port-a-potty rental. This was rented to give any drivers picking up recyclable material to use instead of them coming into the building to use the facilities.

Item 3: Other Business

Vince presented the 2021 Capital Budget. Mark Ireland inquired whether or not some of these expenses should fall under operating expenses instead of capital. Karrie noted that some expenses will not be used, if these amounts were placed into the operating budget, that would increase the member per household cost dramatically.

Moved by Mark Ireland

Seconded by Dave Cuyler

That we approve the 2021 Capital Budget as presented by Vince Cascone.

Carried.

Vince reported to the board about a situation with an employee, this is an ongoing matter and he wanted the board to be aware of it.

Moved by Lillian Abbott

Seconded by Mark Ireland

That we adjourn to meet again February 18, 2021 at 9 am via Zoom.

Carried.

Chairperson

Secretary/Treasurer

## Bruce Area Solid Waste Recycling

Board of Management, Special

#1-2021

January 21, 2021

Present: Lillian Abbott, Chris Peabody, Dave Cuyler, Rick Nickason, Lillian Abbott, Vince Cascone and Karrie Drury.

Absent: John Rich, Jay Kirkland.

Item 1: No pecuniary interests were declared.

Item 2: Moved by Lillian Abbott

Seconded by Dave Cuyler

That we open a special meeting at 9:10 a.m.

Carried.

Item 3: Moved by Lillian Abbott

Seconded by Mark Ireland

That we appoint BDO of Port Elgin as auditor for BASWR for the 2021fiscal year.

Item 4: Moved by Lillian Abbott

Seconded by Mark Ireland

That we accept the following appointed members as Directors of the Board of Management for BASWR for the 2021 fiscal year:

Arran-Elderslie-Ryan Nickason Huron-Kinloss-Lillian Abbott Saugeen Shores-John Rich South Bruce Peninsula-Jay Kirkland

Brockton-Chris Peabody Kincardine-Dave Cuyler South Bruce-Mark Ireland

Carried.

Item 5: Karrie opened the floor for nomination for the position of Chairperson for the 2021 fiscal period. Lillian Abbott nominated Mark Ireland for the position of Chairperson, Ryan Nickason seconded the nomination. There were no other nominiations. Mark accepted the position of Chairperson. The floor was then open for nominations for the positon of Vice Chairperson for the 2021 fiscal period. Dave Cuyler nominated Lillian Abbott, for the positon of Vice Chairperson, seconded by Ryan Nickason. There were no other nominations. Lillian accepted the position of Vice Chairperson.

Moved by Lillian Abbott

Seconded by Ryan Nickason

That we accept Mark Ireland as Chairperson of BASWR for the 2021 fiscal year.

Carried.

Moved by Dave Cuyler

Seconded by Ryan Nickason

That we accept Lillian Abbott as Vice Chairperson of BASWR for the 2021 fiscal year.

Carried.

Moved by Dave Cuyler

Seconded by Ryan Nickason

That we accept the following individuals as Signing Officers of BASWR for the 2021 fiscal period.

Vince Cascone Karrie Drury Mark Ireland Lillian Abbott

Moved by Ryan Nickason

That we adjourn the special meeting at 9:14 a.m.

Seconded by Mark Ireland

Carried.

Chairperson