Terms of Reference for the Multi-Municipal Wind Turbine Working Group

Name:

The committee shall be known as the Multi-Municipal Wind Turbine Working Group (the "Committee").

Purpose:

The purpose of the Committee is to draw together representatives from area municipalities to share and discuss and advocate "best practices" and other means to address mutual concerns regarding proposals to locate and install industrial/commercial wind generation facilities to all the relevant Government Ministries and Agencies.

Activities:

The Committee will meet on a regular basis to discuss ongoing matters and, where applicable, make recommendations to the Councils of the member municipalities for support and/or action as applicable.

The Committee will also undertake research into various related topics and liaise with other similar working groups as appropriate to share information and ideas.

The Committee may form sub-committees to concentrate on specific matters, which sub-committees will report back to the Committee on an ongoing basis.

Delegated Authority:

The Committee is a working group and has no delegated authority except for the advocacy of best practices.

The Committee has no authority to direct staff from any of the member municipalities, and any recommendations requiring implementation, reports, staff action, or a commitment to expend money must first be approved by the respective Council or Councils as the case may be, depending on the municipality(ies) impacted, before any action by staff may be taken.

Committee Composition:

The membership of the Committee will be comprised of representatives appointed by Council resolution or by-law from participating municipalities as follows:

- Two members of council from each participating municipality appointed as regular members of the Committee
- One member of council from each participating municipality appointed as an alternate to attend in the absence of one or both of the regular member representatives from that municipality (appointment of alternate is at the discretion of each member municipality)
- One citizen member may be appointed by each member municipality for the purpose of bringing additional expertise to the discussion

Should any participating municipality wish to opt out of the Committee, a resolution from the participating municipality shall be received by the Committee. There will be no refund of the annual fee to the municipality wishing to opt out.

Term of Office:

All members of the Committee shall be appointed for the term of the Council of the member municipality that appointed them.

Each appointing Council reserves the ability to replace its appointees at its sole discretion and may do so at any time by notifying the Recording Secretary by way of resolution or by-law.

Administration of the Committee:

The Committee will elect a Chair and Vice-Chair from amongst its members on an annual basis, at the beginning of each calendar year.

The Committee will be governed by the Procedural By-law of the Municipality of Arran-Elderslie, except as set out in these Terms of Reference.

Meetings of the Committee shall be open to the public, subject to the exceptions set out in Section 239 of the *Municipal Act, 2001*, as amended.

A maximum of three (3) delegations will be permitted to be placed on the agenda for any Committee meeting, or at the discretion of the Committee. The request to be added to the agenda and the nature of the delegation must be provided to the Recording Secretary not less than five (5) business days prior to the meeting. Each delegation will be allotted ten (10) minutes for their presentation, at the discretion of the Committee.

Notwithstanding the limit to the number of delegations to be placed on the agenda,

with the approval of a majority of the Committee members present, up to an additional three (3) 5-minute delegations may be permitted to address the Committee at any given meeting on short notice.

Delegations will not be permitted to appear before the Committee to present the same information on more than one occasion, nor shall multiple delegations be permitted to repeat the same information as previous delegations, and the ruling of the Chair of the Committee with respect to this matter shall be final.

Staff attending meetings of the Committee are not members of the Committee.

All members of the Committee agree to provide financial support for the secretarial support for the Committee by forwarding, to the Municipality of Arran-Elderslie an amount as established by the Committee, and approved by consensus of the Councils of the participating municipalities. The Committee will review and levy this amount on an annual basis, at the beginning of the calendar year and this levy must be paid by June 1st in each year. In case of any participating municipality discontinuing their participating in Committee, the said municipality shall remain liable for payment of their support for that calendar year.

If the Committee is disbanded, the members of the Committee at the time of disbandment shall agree how the remaining funds shall be distributed, and approved by consensus of the Councils of the remaining participating municipalities.

The Committee shall provide an annual fee structure which shall be approved by Councils of the participating municipalities. A year-end financial statement will be forwarded to the Clerks of the participating municipalities by April 1st of the following year.

Minutes from Committee meetings will be presented for adoption by the Committee at its next regular meeting and once adopted, forwarded to the member municipalities for information and disposition of recommendations as necessary.

Membership:

A yearly record of membership will be established by the Recording Secretary and the agendas and minutes will reflect the name of the appointed member's municipality represented. This record of membership shall be updated from time to time as required, and be provided to all participating municipalities.

Quorum:

Quorum shall be a representation of appointed officials from a majority of the participating municipalities, either by one, two or three of the appointed members or the alternate appointee (where such appointee exists). Quorum shall be 50% of the participating municipalities plus one (1).

Voting Strength:

Each participating municipality shall carry a voting strength of one (1) vote per participating municipality and a quorum shall be 50% of the participating

municipalities plus one (1).

Agendas and Minutes:

The Agendas will be prepared by the Recording Secretary and distributed to each

participating municipality for posting in accordance with their standard practices.

The minutes once adopted by the Committee will be forwarded to each participating municipality and made public by each participating municipality in accordance with

their standard practices.

Meeting Schedule:

It is expected that the Committee will meet on an approximately monthly basis, or at

the call of the Chair, as may be determined from time to time.

The Committee will establish a proposed meeting schedule on an annual basis at the

beginning of the year to facilitate planning.

Staff Resources:

Secretarial support including preparation of agendas and minutes of meetings will be

provided by the Recording Secretary who is hired by the Committee.

The Committee may appoint a technical assistant at a rate to be determined, and

approved by consensus of the Committee, but will not exceed the annual budget.

Miscellaneous:

These Terms of Reference for the Multi-Municipal Wind Turbine Working Group are established by consensus of the Councils of the participating municipalities and can

only be altered by consensus of those municipalities.

Date of Adoption of Terms of Reference: February 2011

Date of Amendment: September 2015

September 2015

Page 4 of 4 Terms of Reference Multi-Municipal Wind Turbine Working Group