Township of Southgate Administration Office 185667 Grey County Road 9, RR 1



Phone: 519-923-2110 Toll Free: 1-888-560-6607 Fax: 519-923-9262 Web: www.southgate.ca

December 6, 2019

Dundalk, ON NOC 1B0

Roger Cook, Manager Saugeen Mobility and Regional Transit 603 Bruce Line 19 Walkerton, Ontario NOG 2V0

Sent via email: roger@saugeenmobility.ca

Dear Mr. Cook:

Re: Township of Southgate partnership with SMART

Please be advised that at the December 4, 2019 Regular Meeting of Council, the following resolution was passed:

Whereas the Township of Southgate is a member of Saugeen Mobility and Regional Transit (SMART) and is represented by a board of directors representing the member municipalities; and

Whereas each board of directors determines the policies, priorities and budget for SMART; and

Whereas each member municipality financially supports the SMART organization and the service provided to each of our communities; and

Whereas the costs to deliver the service continues to rise impacting our municipal burden on taxpayers,

Now therefore be it resolved that Council direct staff to provide notice with a copy of this motion of our intentions to withdraw from the SMART partnership as a member; and

That Council recommend to other SMART member municipalities that we cooperatively explore amalgamation of service with Grey and Bruce Counties to deliver the SMART service to reduce transit duplication, develop transit efficiencies through one service delivery model and specifically to reduce our present back-haul time and costs without customers on-board; and

That Council direct staff to send this motion to all SMART member municipalities, as well as Bruce and Grey County Council's for their consideration.

Carried. No. 2019-794

If you have any questions, please contact our office at (519) 923-2110.

Sincerely,

Original Signed By

Lindsey Green, Deputy Clerk Township of Southgate

cc: County of Bruce County of Grey Municipality of Arran-Elderslie Municipality of Brockton Town of Hanover Township of Huron-Kinloss Township of Chatsworth Municipality of Kincardine Town of Saugeen Shores Municipality of West Grey