

October 21, 2019

Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority 8195 8th Line Utopia ON, L0M 1T0

RE: Conservation Authority Levies

Please be advised that at its meeting of October 16, 2019, Council of the Township of Springwater passed the following resolution:

C456-2019

Moved by: Coughlin Seconded by: Cabral

Whereas the Township of Springwater supports the objects of balance on conservation, environmental stewardship, and sustainability to anchor its operations, planning, services, and strategic vision;

And Whereas the Township of Springwater understands the need for both the Province and its municipalities to deliver clear, costed, and sustainable programs and services for taxpayers;

And Whereas both tiers of government must assess all programs and services to eliminate duplication and balance costs on tests of affordability, health, safety, and environmental stewardship;

And Whereas the Minister of Environment, Conservation, and Parks signaled on August 16, 2019 of a need for conservation authorities to re-focus their operations related to core mandates as currently defined in the Conservation Authorities Act, 1990, R.S.O. 1990, c. C.27 and its prescribed regulations;

And Whereas the Minister of Environment, Conservation, and Parks signaled on August 16, 2019 that Conservation Authorities should not proceed with any increases to fees or levies;

Therefore Be It Resolved That the Township of Springwater supports any Provincial effort to require its municipal levy only apply to core mandated programs and services;

And That this resolution be forwarded to Premier Doug Ford, the Minister of the Environment, Conservation, and Parks, the Honourable Jeff Yurek, the County of Simcoe, all Ontario municipalities, the NVCA and Ontario's other 35 Conservation Authorities, and Conservation Ontario, signaling the Township of Springwater's

support of the Province's review, consultations and development of an updated Conservation Authorities Act and the willingness to participate in all consultations and submissions to the same.

Carried

Sincerely,

Renée Chaperon

Clerk /cp

cc. Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario

Jeff Yurek, Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks

The County of Simcoe Conservation Ontario Ontario municipalities

Ontario Conservation Authorities

Phone: 705-728-4784 Clerk's Department

Fax: 705-728-6957

Ext. 2015