

Bruce County Council Elects Saugeen Shores Mayor Luke Charbonneau as Bruce County Warden

December 05, 2024

On Thursday, December 5, 2024, the Inaugural Council Meeting of the 2024-2025 Bruce County Council term was held in the Council Chambers at the Walkerton Administration Centre. Bruce County's Councillors, the locally-elected Mayors of the eight lower-tier municipalities in the County, elected a Warden and Deputy Warden for the 2024-2025 term in this inaugural meeting.

Bruce County Council elected Luke Charbonneau, Mayor of the Town of Saugeen Shores, as Bruce County's Warden for the 2024-2025 term. This is Mayor Luke Charbonneau's first term as County Warden. Luke Charbonneau was elected to municipal council in the Town of Saugeen Shores in 2006, served one term as Councillor, two terms as Deputy Mayor, and was acclaimed as Mayor in 2018 and 2022.

Bruce County Council also elected Don Murray, Mayor of the Township of Huron-Kinloss, as Bruce County's Deputy Warden for the 2024-2025 term. Don Murray was elected to municipal council in the Township of Huron-Kinloss in 2006, served three terms as Councillor, one term as Deputy Mayor, and was elected as Mayor in 2022.

Warden Charbonneau and Deputy Warden Murray were sworn into their 2024-2025 roles on Bruce County Council by Linda White, Bruce County Clerk. The position of Warden is achieved through a vote of peers on County Council, who manage the affairs of the County's shared community and resources. The Warden chairs Council meetings, represents Bruce County at official functions, acts as an official spokesperson, and much more. The Deputy Warden supports the Warden's duties in the Warden's absence.

"I am humbled and honoured to carry the responsibilities of Warden and I pledge to do my best to try to live up to the example set by outgoing Warden, Chris Peabody. It is a privilege to continue serving the residents and businesses of Bruce County," said Warden Luke Charbonneau. "Bruce County is a provincial and national leader in energy, agriculture, health care, and the fight against global climate change. We stand poised to be at the very heart of Ontario's prosperity. County Council strives to continue working with staff, key partners, neighbours, and as allies of the Saugeen Anishnaabek, to make life easier for young families and active seniors, and to deliver value for taxpayers with good planning, sound management, and affordable and reliable services."

"Thank you for this opportunity to be the Deputy Warden of Bruce County. I look forward to working with Warden Charbonneau and all Members of Council to advance important growth and support initiatives and to ensure that life in the County is better for all residents and the generations to come," said Deputy Warden Don Murray.

"On behalf of Bruce County Staff, I wish to congratulate Mayor Luke Charbonneau and Mayor Don Murray on their election. I look forward to the year ahead as we continue to make infrastructure and public service a priority, and plan for community and economic growth," said Chief Administrative Officer Christine McDonald.

Bruce County Council for the 2024-2025 Term:

Chris Peabody – Municipality of Brockton Don Murray – Township of Huron-Kinloss Jay Kirkland – Town of South Bruce Peninsula Kenneth Craig – Municipality of Kincardine Luke Charbonneau – Town of Saugeen Shores Mark Goetz – Municipality of South Bruce Milt McIver – Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula Steve Hamell – Municipality of Arran-Elderslie

Discover more about **Bruce County Council**.