







October 30, 2018

Memo to: Municipal Clerks of:

Municipality of Arran-Elderslie Municipality of Brockton

Town of Hanover

Town of Hanove Town of Minto

Township of Southgate

Township of Wellington North

c. Bill Twaddle, Chair, Source Protection Committee

From: Carl Seider, Project Manager

Saugeen, Grey Sauble, Northern Bruce Peninsula Source Protection Region

Re: Notice of Source Protection Committee Vacancy and Opportunity to Jointly

Nominate One Representative to Source Protection Committee

This is to advise that we are seeking to replace/renew the representative for Municipal Grouping 3 on the Saugeen, Grey Sauble, Northern Bruce Peninsula Source Protection Region. The current representative for Municipal Grouping 3 is Les Nichols.

Your municipality, as part of Grouping 3, has the opportunity to be involved in the selection of one replacement representative for the Source Protection Committee. The process will be conducted in accordance with Ontario Regulation 288/07 s. 3.

Municipalities in Grouping 3, as shown on the attached map, are requested to jointly submit one list of names to the Source Protection Authority by January 31, 2019. The list may consist of one or more names, from which the local Management Committee will choose one name and recommend to the lead Source Protection Authority that this person be appointed to the Source Protection Committee. To assist in the selection process, it is recommended that a one-page biography be supplied by each person on the list of names.

It is suggested that municipalities meet over the next couple of months to discuss and make decisions with respect to the list of names from which one person will be chosen as your new representative on the Source Protection Committee. Our Project Manager, Carl Seider, is available to attend meetings as a resource. Please note that nominations must be submitted by the date specified in the Notice.

www.greysauble.on.ca

Attachment: Notice of Opportunity to Jointly Nominate

Representative to Source Protection Committee

NOTICE

made under O. Reg 288/07 s. 3

NOMINATIONS FOR REPRESENTATIVE ON SOURCE PROTECTION COMMITTEE

In accordance with Ontario Regulation 288/07, this Notice is being sent to municipal clerks for municipalities in Groupings 1-4 of the Saugeen, Grey Sauble, Northern Bruce Peninsula Source Protection Region (SPR). The Notice indicates the opportunity to submit nomination(s) for one representative on the Source Protection Committee per Group.

Functions of the Source Protection Committee

The Source Protection Committee (SPC) is overseeing a science-based planning process to protect municipal sources of drinking water that is governed by the *Clean Water Act*. The SPC has had its Source Protection Plan and supporting technical work approved by the Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks and continues to work to ensure that policies are in place to protect local municipal sources of drinking water.

MUNICIPAL GROUPINGS

The Saugeen Valley Source Protection Authority, as the lead authority in the SPR and after consultation with municipalities, has established groups of municipalities and the number of SPC members assigned, as per O.Reg. 288/07 s. 3 (1).

Table A and Map below identify the municipalities by Group.

Table A: Municipalities in Groupings 1-4.

Grouping Number	Municipalities by Group	Number of Representatives to be appointed
1	Township of Georgian Bluffs Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula Town of South Bruce Peninsula City of Owen Sound	One
2	Township of Huron-Kinloss Municipality of Kincardine Town of Saugeen Shores Township of Howick Municipality of Morris-Turnberry	One

Grouping Number	Municipalities by Group	Number of Representatives to be appointed
3	Municipality of South Bruce Municipality of Arran-Elderslie Municipality of Brockton Town of Hanover Town of Minto Township of Southgate Township of Wellington North	One
4	Township of Chatsworth Municipality of West Grey Municipality of Grey Highlands Municipality of Meaford Town of the Blue Mountains	One

NOMINATION OF REPRESENTATIVE FOR SOURCE PROTECTION COMMITTEE

The councils of the municipalities that are within the grouping identified in Table A may jointly submit a list of persons to the Drinking Water Source Protection office. From this list the Management Committee will recommend a name to Grey Sauble Source Protection Authority, which will appoint the new representative to the Source Protection Committee. It is the responsibility of municipalities to organize the process for developing their list of person(s). If requested by the municipalities, our Project Manager, Carl Seider, will attend meetings that municipalities have arranged and serve as a resource person. Carl Seider may be contacted at (519) 470-3000 x. 201.

The deadline for municipal groups to jointly submit a list of persons is: Friday January 31, 2019 at 4:00 p.m.

Send the List of Persons for Nomination to the SPC to:

Carl Seider, Project Manager, Drinking Water Source Protection Saugeen, Grey Sauble, Northern Bruce Peninsula c.seider@waterprotection.ca
or by mail (marked 'Confidential') to:
Carl Seider, Project Manager, Drinking Water Source Protection 237897 Inglis Falls Road, RR4
Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 5N6

Obligations of SPC Members

Members of the Source Protection Committee will be dealing with technical information and discussing often complex issues. As such, the following list of duties and expectations are provided for consideration:

- Hold relevant knowledge of the watersheds and local land uses and institutions
- Expected to attend 3-4 Source Protection Committee meetings per year (Members are compensated \$250 per diems for full day meetings)
- Participate at public meetings, attend public information sessions and participate in public consultation forums
- Understand the municipal role, finance, planning issues
- Act as liaison to bring forward common concerns from their knowledge and experience in the municipal sector to the Committee and assist in communicating the Committee's work to municipal councils and staff
- Work collaboratively on the Committee with other Drinking Water Source Protection partners such as community stakeholder groups
- Provide constructive, collaborative and science-based input on local Source Protection Planning issues

A Code of Conduct and Conflict of Interest Policy, as well as a Rules of Procedure have been adopted by the Source Protection Committee.

Limitations on Appointments

The following conditions and restrictions are applied to the appointment of SPC representatives, as per O.Reg. 288/07 s. 7:

This application has been posted at: home.waterprotection.ca

 Applicants must reside in, own or rent land in, be employed in, operate a business in, or be employed by a municipality within the Source Protection Region

Note: The wording used in this notice to summarize certain portions of the Clean Water Act, 2006, and its regulations are provided for guidance. The reader is referred to the approved legislation for accuracy.

Proposed Municipal Groupings for Source Protection Committee

Saugeen, Grey Sauble, Northern Bruce Peninsula Source Protection Region

