Corporation of the County of Bruce 30 Park Street, P.O. Box 70, Walkerton, ON, NOG 2V0 Telephone: 519.881.1291 Fax: 519.881.1619



October 10, 2018

The Honourable Raymond Cho Minister for Seniors and Accessibility 777 Bay Street, Suite 601C Toronto ON M7A 2J4

Dear Mr. Cho:

The Bruce County Accessibility Advisory Committee discussed how to improve the accessibility of the services and built environment in the small towns in our County. It is our understanding that the criteria applicable to the Provincial AODA Act specifies that any jurisdiction with a population over 10,000 people must have an Accessibility Advisory Committee (AAC).

The challenge we have in Bruce County is that only two municipalities meet that criteria. That may be similar to many parts of rural and northern Ontario as a great many of the municipalities and towns are below this population level.

That of course means that there is no provincially mandated AAC in the smaller communities of Ontario. Thus rendering many people with disabilities with limited options to positively influence the improvement of the accessibility of their home community.

However, the Ontario AODA has had a positive influence on the accessibility in larger centres due to the efforts of all of the people involved.

We, the members of the Bruce County Accessibility Advisory Committee would like to see the Province allow and encourage the formation of Accessibility Advisory Committees or Teams that are made up of people from a number of smaller communities. This would allow a close working relationship between the people of disability in the small communities and their local Accessibility Advisory Committee.

Corporation of the County of Bruce 30 Park Street, P.O. Box 70, Walkerton, ON, NOG 2V0

Telephone: 519.881.1291 Fax: 519.881.1619



We sincerely hope you will be able to comment on this proposal as we are looking forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Ed McGugan

Chair

Bruce County Accessibility Advisory Committee

c. The Honourable Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing

The Honourable Victor Fedeli, Minister of Finance & Chair of Cabinet

Accessibility Directorate of Ontario

Mr. Bill Walker, MPP, Bruce, Grey, Owen Sound

Ms. Lisa Thompson, MPP, Huron, Bruce

Bruce County Municipalities