

The Corporation of the Municipality of Mississippi Mills

Council Meeting

Resolution Number 163-23

Title: Item G – Port Colborne Resolution re: Oath of Office

Date: Tuesday, May 9, 2023

Moved by Councillor Holmes
Seconded by Councillor Souter

THAT Council supports Port Colborne's resolution re: Oath of Office.

CARRIED

I, Casey Munro, Deputy Clerk for the Corporation of the Municipality of Mississippi Mills, do hereby certify that the above is a true copy of a resolution enacted by Council.

Casey Munro, Deputy Clerk



Municipal Offices: 66 Charlotte Street
Port Colborne, Ontario L3K 3C8 • www.portcolborne.ca

11

т 905.835.2900 ext 106 **г** 905.834.5746

E charlotte.madden@portcolborne.ca

April 11, 2023

Municipality of Trent Lakes 760 Peterborough County Road 36 Trent Lakes, ON K0M 1A0

To: The Honourable Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing

minister.mah@ontario.ca

The Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario

premier@ontario.ca

The Honourable Dave Smith, MPP Peterborough-Kawartha

dave.smithco@pc.ola.org

The Honourable Michelle Ferreri, MP Peterborough-Kawartha

michell.ferreri@parl.gc.ca

Curve Lake First Nation

audreyp@curvelake.ca

The Association of Municipalities Ontario

amo@amo.on.ca

Re: Municipality of Trent Lakes - Oath of Office

Please be advised that, at its meeting of March 14, 2023 the Council of The Corporation of the City of Port Colborne resolved as follows:

That correspondence received from the Municipality of Trent Lakes regarding Oath of Office, be supported.

A copy of the above noted resolution is enclosed for your reference.

Sincerely,

Charlotte Madden Acting City Clerk

Cc: All Ontario Municipalities



760 Peterborough County Road 36, Trent Lakes, ON K0M 1A0 Tel 705-738-3800 Fax 705-738-3801

February 28, 2023

Via email only

To: The Honourable Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing minister.mah@ontario.ca

The Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario

doug.fordco@pc.ola.org

The Honourable Dave Smith, MPP Peterborough-Kawartha

dave.smithco@pc.ola.org

The Honourable Michelle Ferreri, MP Peterborough-Kawartha

michelle.ferreri@parl.gc.ca

Curve Lake First Nation

audreyp@curvelake.ca

The Association of Municipalities Ontario

amo@amo.on.ca

Re: Oath of Office

Please be advised that during their Regular Council meeting held February 21, 2023, Council passed the following resolution:

Resolution No. R2023-119

Moved by Councillor Franzen Seconded by Deputy Mayor Armstrong

Whereas most municipalities in Ontario have a native land acknowledgement in their opening ceremony; and

Whereas a clear reference to the rights of Indigenous people is the aim of advancing Truth and Reconciliation; and

Whereas Call to Action 94 of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada called upon the Government of Canada to replace the wording of the Oath of Citizenship to include the recognition of the laws of Canada including Treaties with Indigenous Peoples; and

Whereas on June 21, 2021 an Act to amend The Citizenship Act received royal assent to include clear reference to the rights of Indigenous peoples aimed at advancing the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action within the broader reconciliation framework; and

Whereas the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada outlines specific calls to action for municipal governments in Canada to act on, including education and collaboration;

Therefore be it resolved that Council request to the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing that the following changes be made to the municipal oath of office: I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to His Majesty King Charles III and that I will faithfully observe the laws of Canada including the Constitution, which recognizes and affirms the Aboriginal and treaty rights of First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples; and further

That this resolution be forwarded to the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO), all Ontario municipalities, MPP Dave Smith, MP Michelle Ferreri, Premier Doug Ford and Curve Lake First Nation.

Carried.

Sincerely,

Mayor and Council of the Municipality of Trent Lakes

Cc: All Ontario municipalities