Municipal Innovation Council Special Meeting Minutes

In-Person Meeting
Town of Saugeen Shores, 600 Tomlinson Drive, Port Elgin
February 28, 2023, 1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.

Present:

Kara Van Myall, CAO, Town of Saugeen Shores, Chair Mary Rose Walden, CAO, Township of Huron-Kinloss Sonya Watson, CAO, Municipality of Brockton Leanne Martin, CAO, Municipality of South Bruce (via Zoom, departed at 2:20 pm) Sylvia Kirkwood, CAO, Municipality of Arran-Elderslie Derrick Thomson, CAO, County of Bruce Jillene Bellchamber-Glazier, CAO, Municipality of Kincardine (arrived at 1:58 pm)

Staff Support/Other:

Bruce Wallace, President & CEO, NII, Non-Voting (for Item 3.1, departed at 1:53 pm) Sarah Wilson, Executive Assistant, Town of Saugeen Shores, Non-Voting

Absent:

Peggy Van Mierlo-West, CAO, Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 1:35 p.m.

2. Additions or Amendments to the Special Agenda

None.

3. Delegations

3.1 Bruce Wallace, President & CEO of Nuclear Innovation Institute

Members heard an update from Mr. Wallace regarding the status of the program agreement support from Nuclear Innovation Institute (NII), recent personnel matters and funding concerns in relation to the MIC.

B. Wallace left the meeting at 1:53 pm.

4. Closed Session

The Municipal Innovation Council moved into Closed Session at 1:55 pm to discuss the closed session report from the Chair regarding MIC Program Delivery Next Steps.

Members arose from the Closed Session and resumed the Special Meeting.

Motion: MIC 2023-08

That the Closed to Public Session adjourn and the Municipal Innovation Council arise to Open Session.

Moved by: Sonya Watson

Seconded by: Mary Rose Walden

CARRIED

Chair Van Myall reported that the MIC received information from the Chair in the closed session regarding an identifiable individual, considered next steps for the MIC, and that the MIC consider the County of Bruce as the lead municipality for municipal innovation.

Motion: MIC 2023-09

That the MIC defers a decision on Next Steps to the March 29th meeting and requests that the County provide a proposal on becoming the lead municipality for municipal innovation; and

That the MIC direct the Chair to issue correspondence to the Nuclear Innovation Institute recognizing the changes to the current program arrangement; and

That the MIC direct the Chair to issue correspondence to Becky Smith, thanking her for her participation and work with Municipal Innovation Council; and

That the MIC issue correspondence to the Town of Saugeen Shores noting the request to the County to provide a proposal to become the lead municipality for municipal innovation.

Moved by: Jillene Bellchamber-Glazier

Seconded by: Sylvia Kirkwood

CARRIED

5. Adjournment

The special meeting adjourned at 3:41 pm.

Motion: MIC 2023-10

That the MIC Special Meeting hereby adjourns at 3:41 pm.

Moved by: Derrick Thomson Seconded by: Sylvia Kirkwood

CARRIED