

# SOURCE PROTECTION COMMITTEE

Saugeen

onservation

**Grey Sauble** 

CONSERVATION

**MINUTES – MEETING #88** 

MEETING: SOURCE PROTECTION COMMITTEE

DATE: FRIDAY, MARCH 25, 2022

DRINKING WATER

ACT FOR CLEAN WATER

TIME: 1:00 P.M.

LOCATION: VIRTUAL VIA WEB/EX

## CALL TO ORDER

The Chair called the meeting to order at 1:05 p.m.

- In Attendance: Chair, Bill Twaddle Stan Eby, John Fruin, Dick Hibma, Dennis Kefalas, Les Nichols, Dan Orr, Tara Saab, Gord Timmerman
- Others Present: Catherine Eby, Ex-officio, Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks (MECP) Carl Seider, Project Manager, Drinking Water Source Protection (DWSP) Nancy Guest, Recording Secretary, DWSP
- Also in Attendance: Tim Lanthier, CAO, Grey Sauble Conservation Jennifer Stephens, General Manager/Secretary-Treasurer, Saugeen Conservation Peggy Van Mierlo-West, CAO, Northern Bruce Peninsula Karen Gillan, Communications Specialist/Program Supervisor, DWSP Danielle Walker, Centre Wellington Risk Management Office
- Regrets: Angela Newman, Mitch Twolan, Jim Uram, Robert Emerson

Proxy Appointed By: Angela Newman

The Chair introduced and welcomed the new MECP liaison, Catherine Eby; Danielle Walker of the Centre Wellington Risk Management Office; Grey Sauble Conservation CAO Tim Lanthier, and Saugeen Conservation General Manager Jennifer Stephens.

The funding Workplan was extended from a one-year term to a two-year term, which enables work with municipalities and landowners to be planned over two years. Section 34 amendments provide for new or additional changes required for three new wells that are being planned: Chesley, Scott's Point and Minto Pines.

The Ministry has released best practices guidance respecting privately-owned communal wells. The best practices instructions cover user-friendly information and tips to help protect these types of drinking water sources from contamination and will require consultation in the future respecting the protection for these areas.

## Motion No. SPC-22-326

# Moved by: Les Nichols Seconded by: Dennis Kefalas

THAT: the Saugeen, Grey Sauble, Northern Bruce Peninsula Source Protection Committee receives this Administration Report 6a for information.

#### Carried

## Communications Report 6b

The Communications Specialist reviewed Report 6b and advised work was completed on the Annual Progress Report, the Source Water newsletter and the media release announcing the submission of the s.36 amendments. The newsletter highlights the best management practices guide, as well as information from the Ministry and Conservation Ontario.

The Children's Water Festival will be virtual again this year and students in the eligible age group will be provided with information, literature and projects to participate

Ausable Bayfield Maitland Valley Source Water Protection produced a series of videos featuring SPC members and including Conservation Ontario videos. These videos can be viewed at: <u>http://www.sourcewaterinfo.on.ca/news/videos/</u> and are excellent at explaining drinking water source protection-related topics.

## 7. New Business

# Director's Technical Rule Amendments Report 7a

The Project Manager reviewed Report 7a and advised that the Director's Technical Rules were recently approved and are currently being reviewed and discussed with other DWSP offices. The Technical Rules provide, among other things, for an assessment of climate change risks, WHPA-E systems, and general amendments around the Table of Circumstances. More detail of the Rules will be provided at upcoming SPC meetings, including the refinement of existing policies to target high-risk areas.

Motion No. SPC-22-327 Moved by: John Fruin Seconded by: Dennis Kefalas

amendments have been or are being reviewed. Staff is working with municipalities respecting septic inspections, and 100% of risk management policies have been implemented.

Motion No.	Moved by: Dennis Kefalas
SPC-22-329	Seconded by: Tara Saab

THAT: the Saugeen, Grey Sauble, Northern Bruce Peninsula Source Protection Committee receives a copy of the draft Source Protection Annual Progress Report and directs Staff to provide the Report, along with any comments to the Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks by May 1, 2022.

#### Carried

#### 8. Other Business

Dennis Kefalas and Angela Newman, who are both resigning from the Committee, were recognized for their respective informed and engaged contributions and wished the best in the future.

The Chair announced that his term as SPC chair will not be renewed in August 2022. Applications will open in the future to fill his position and the Committee will be provided with this information when it becomes available.

There was no other business.

# 9. Confirmation of Next Meeting and Adjournment

The next Committee meeting will be held on Friday, July 22, 2022 at a venue to be determined.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 2:55 p.m.

Bill Twaddle Schord (Dick) Hibmar

Interim Chair

	0
paray or	that
Nancy Quest Recording Secretary	my s