

THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWN OF COBOURG

The Corporation of the Town of Cobourg
Legislative Services Department
Victoria Hall
55 King Street West
Cobourg, ON K9A 2M2

Brent Larmer Municipal Clerk/ Manager of Legislative Services Telephone: (905) 372-4301 Ext. 4401 Email: blarmer@cobourg.ca Fax: (905) 372-7558

SENT VIA EMAIL

December 28, 2022

David Piccini, Member of Provincial Parliament

Hon. Doug Ford, Premier

Hon. Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing

Re: Town of Cobourg Resolution – Strong Mayors, Building Act, (Bill 3)

At a meeting held on December 19, 2022, the Municipal Council of the Town of Cobourg approved the following Resolution #406-22

Strong Mayors, Building Act, (Bill 3)

Moved by Councillor Brian Darling, Seconded by Councillor Aaron Burchat

THAT Council receive the correspondence from the Municipality of Prince Edward County, Township of Lanark Highlands Municipality of Greenstone regarding the Strong Mayors, Building Act (Bill 3) for information purposes

AND FURTHER THAT Cobourg Council supports the resolutions from these municipalities regarding Bill 3

AND FURTHER THAT Cobourg Council opposes the changes that Bill 3 makes to the Municipal Act, 2001 and Municipal Conflict of Interest Act

AND FURTHER THAT Council direct the Municipal Clerk to send a copy of this resolution be provided to the Premier of Ontario, the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, MPP David Piccini, all 444 municipalities, FCM, AMCTO, and AMO.

406-22 Carried

If you have any questions regarding this matter, please do not hesitate to contact the undersigned at blarker@cobourg.ca or by telephone at (905)-372-4301 Ext. 4401.

Sincerely,

Brent Larmer

Municipal Clerk/Manager of Legislative Services

Returning Officer

Legislative Services Department