Corporation of the

Municipality Magnetawan

Tel: (705) 387-3947 Fax: (705) 387-4875 www.magnetawan.com

P.O. Box 70, Magnetawan, Ontario POA 1PO

RESOLUTION NO. 2022 -

DECEMBER 07, 2022

Moved by:
Seconded by: Busha
WHEREAS the Council of the Municipality of Magnetawan receives the correspondence regarding
Bill 23 the Build More Homes Faster Act; AND WHEREAS Council appreciates and understands that the lack of attainable and affordable
housing is an important issue facing the entire Province; AND WHEREAS Bill 23 will have economic, social, and environmental implications that will affect
several acts including but not limited to the Conservation Authorities Act, Development Charges Act, 1997, Municipal Act, 2001, Ontario Heritage Act, Ontario Land Tribunal Act, 2021, Planning
Act and may make changes to the Ontario Building Code along with the financial burden that this legislation will have on municipalities and existing homeowners;
NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Council of the Municipality of Magnetawan concurs with York Region Council and many others that the legislative program under the umbrella of the
Ontario Housing Supply Action Plan must be paused in order to have a more in-depth consultation with municipalities and other stakeholders;
AND THAT this resolution be forwarded to the Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario, the Honourable Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, the Honourable David Piccini,
Minister of the Environment, Conversation and Parks, the Honourable Graydon Smith, Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry, the Honourable Peter Tabuns, Leader of the Opposition and
interim leader of the Ontario New Democratic Party, the Honourable John Fraser Interim Leader of the Ontario Liberal Party, the Honourable Mike Schreiner, Leader of the Green Party of
Ontario, Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) and all Ontario municipalities.
Carried Defeated Deferred 5.00 Defeated Deferred
Sam Dunnett, Mayor
Recorded Vote Called by:
Recorded Vote

Member of Council	Yea	Nay	Absent
Bishop, Bill			
Hetherington, John			
Hind, Jon			
Kneller, Brad			
Mayor: Dunnett, Sam			



Knowing our heritage we will build our future