

Corporation of the County of Bruce Donna Van Wyck, Clerk 30 Park Street, P.O. Box 70, Walkerton, ON, NOG 2V0 Telephone: 226.909.2433 Fax: 519.881.1619 Email: dvanwyck@brucecounty.on.ca

December 23, 2021

Via email: Christine.elliott@pc.ola.org

The Honourable Christine Elliott Minister of Health 5th Floor, 777 Bay Street Toronto ON M7A 2J3

Dear Minister Elliott:

At the December 23, 2021 Bruce County Executive Committee meeting the following recommendation from the Municipality of Arran-Elderslie was supported:

That Whereas, on December 20, 2021, the South Bruce Grey Health Centre (SBGHC) released an announcement regarding the reduction in hospital services due to nursing shortages; and,

Whereas, due to workplace demands as a result of the ongoing COVID 19 pandemic there continues to be an overall shortage of available registered nurses in the Province of Ontario; and,

Whereas the Province of Ontario is responsible for the provision of Health Care Services in Ontario; and,

Whereas the rural health care system is even more strained due to the shortage of doctors and nurses and other medical professionals; and,

Whereas, due to recent nursing departures in SBGHC, the Centre will be faced with even more challenges during the holiday season; and,

Whereas, SBGHC has determined that alternatives related to staffing shortages needs to be considered to address the health care crisis; and,

Whereas, upon review it was recommended that two measures be implemented: the first being the reduction of the Emergency Room hours at Walkerton Hospital and the second being the modifications to the Chesley inpatient unit; and,

Whereas the Chesley Hospital Emergency Room hours have been reduced for over 2 years and the reduction in Walkerton may result in difficulties for patients to attend alternative hospitals if emergency care is needed overnight; and,

Whereas these reductions continue to put a health care strain on rural communities such as Brockton, Hanover, Chatsworth and the Municipality of Arran-Elderslie; and,

Whereas, it has been recommended that the province be requested to undertake a third-party review of these recommendations to ensure that other alternatives be considered rather than reducing services; and,

Whereas, during the third-party review of these proposed health service reductions the province provide applicable emergency funding to the SBGHC while the third-party review is being undertaken and final recommendations are implemented; and,

Whereas the Province should be requested as part of the third-party review to consider the provision of additional funding and incentives for training, education and recruitment of registered nurses to support rural health care; and,

Whereas the Municipality of Arran-Elderslie strongly opposes any reduction in service levels at the facilities in Chesley and Walkerton and further request that the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care for the Province of Ontario intervene to find an immediate solution for the staffing shortages and ensure consistent service levels for residents of Arran-Elderslie, Chatsworth, Brockton and South Bruce; and,

And further that the Council of the Municipality of Arran-Elderslie opposes the negative impacts on first responders including the OPP, paramedics and local fire departments, and,

Now therefore, Be It Resolved, that Council support the request for the province to consider conducting a third-party review at their own expense of these local health crisis measures and send a copy of this motion to MPP Bill Walker Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound, MPP Lisa Thompson Huron-Bruce, MP Alex Ruff and Ontario Health Minister Christine

Elliott, County of Bruce, County of Grey and the Municipalities of Brockton, South Bruce, Chatsworth and Hanover.

Yours sincerely,

Norma Um Wyck.

Donna Van Wyck Clerk

c. Mr. Bill Walker, MPP, Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound (Via email: bill.walkerco@pc.ola.org) Ms. Lisa Thompson, MPP, Huron-Bruce (Via email: lisa.thompsonco@pc.ola.org) Mr. Alex Ruff, MP, Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound (Via email: Alex.Ruff@parl.gc.ca) Municipality of Brockton Municipality of Brockton Municipality of Arran-Elderslie Municipality of South Bruce Township of Chatsworth Town of Hanover County of Grey